gds2012 banner small


hornbyGreg Hornby

He is UCSC’s Deputy Director of Information Sciences for their division at NASA Ames Research Center. He received is Ph.D. in Computer Science from Brandeis University in 2002 for Generative Representations for Evolutionary Design Automation. He evolved the dynamic gait used on the consumer version of Sony’s Aibo and also the X-band antennas used on NASA’s ST-5 mission. He also developed the Age Layered Population Structure (ALPS) for improving the robustness of stochastic search algorithms, such as Evolutionary Algorithms.

doursatRené Doursat

He is an elected Full Member of CREA, the research center in cognitive science and self-organization at Ecole Polytechnique, Paris, and currently a Research Scientist in the Research Group in Biomimetics (GEB) at the University of Malaga, Spain. In 2009 and 2010, he was Director of the Complex Systems Institute, CNRS, Paris, where he also held a Researcher position (2006-2011). Previously, he was a Visiting Assistant Professor in computer science at the University of Nevada, Reno (2004-2006). He obtained his MSc from the Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris (1987), his PhD from Université Paris 6 (1991) and completed two postdocs at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany (1991-1994) and CREA (1995-1998). After a segue through the Bay Area’s high-tech industry, he came back to academia full-time in 2004. René was General Chair and main organizer of ECAL 2011, the 11th European Conference on Artificial Life, Paris, the founder of the “Morphogenetic Engineering” workshop series, and an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks. His research activities address the computational modeling and simulation of complex multi-agent systems, in particular biological and techno-social, which can also inspire novel principles in intelligent systems design. His interest especially focuses on the self-organization of complex, articulated morphologies (e.g. multicellular organisms) from a swarm of heterogeneous agents, through dynamical, developmental, and evolutionary processes.



Beal, Jacob Duthen, Yves Minai, Ali Taylor, Tim
Bentley, Peter J. Essam, Daryl Mjolsness, Eric Teuscher, Christof
Bongard, Josh Floreano, Dario Mouret, Jean-Baptiste Tolley, Michael
Breen, David E. Frei, Regina Nehaniv, Chrystopher L. Trefzer, Martin
Bullock, Seth Giavitto, Jean-Louis O'Grady, Rehan Tufte, Gunnar
Cangelosi, Angelo Guntsch, Michael Palmer, Michael E. Vico, Francisco
Clune, Jeff Harding, Simon Pollack, Jordan von der Malsburg, C.
Collet, Pierre Komosinski, Maciej Prusinkiewicz, P. Wiles, Janet
Cussat-Blanc, Sylvain Kowaliw, Taras Rieffel, John Winfield, Alan F. T.
D'Ambrosio, David B. Lobo, Daniel Roggen, Daniel Wrobel, Borys
D'Eleuterio, Gabriele Looks, Moshe Sayama, Hiroki Wurtz, Rolf
Di Marzo Serugendo, G. Lutton, Evelyne Schmickl, Thomas Yamamoto, Lidia
Diaconescu, Ada Mamei, Marco Shen, Wei-Min Zambonelli, Franco
Dittrich, Peter McLennan, Bruce Spicher, Antoine  
Doncieux, Stephane Michel, Olivier Stanley, Kenneth O.  
Dorigo, Marco Miikkulainen, Risto Stepney, Susan  

The conference will be held in Philadelphia, USA. For more information, please see the GECCO 2012 homepage at GECCO is sponsored by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Special Interest Group on Genetic and Evolutionary Computation (SIGEVO). SIG Services: 2 Penn Plaza, Suite 701, New York, NY, 10121, USA, 1-800-342-6626 (USA and Canada) or +212-626-0500 (Global).